AMVCAs entries open

By Rosalia David

AFRICA Magic in association with MultiChoice Nigeria has announced that entries for the seventh edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) are now open and close on Friday 13 December.

All African film makers meeting the requirements are encouraged to apply and take part in the awards ceremony scheduled to take place in March 2020.

The AMVCAs was created to celebrate the contribution of African filmmakers, actors and technicians in the success of the continent’s film and television industry.

Speaking at the press conference, channel director of Africa Magic Wangi Mba-Uzoukwu said, “It’s been a long wait, but we are pleased to finally announce that the seventh edition of the AMVCAs is here and set to once again celebrate film and television talent across Africa.”

Adding that every year the industry continues to grow in leaps and bounds, “We are proud to be a part of its success story through the AMVCAs and that it remain Africa’s most prestigious awards and most reputable celebration of talent in front and behind the camera.”

Chief executive officer of MultiChoice Nigeria John Ugbe also said that, beyond celebrating talent, the AMVCAs represent a significant investment in the African film and television industry, igniting ancillary industries in the process.

“Each year, revenues are increased and jobs are created to cater to the opportunities presented in areas like fashion, styling, photography and make-up.  The AMVCAs also present a unique opportunity for the world to see and experience Africa beyond the headlines, telling its own story and celebrating its best storytellers,” he said.

According to a press statement, Films, made-for-television movies or television series previously entered or nominated for an award, or awarded a prize in another film and television competition are eligible to be entered for the AMVCAs.

All films, made-for-television movies or television series are also eligible for entry to the AMVCA if broadcasted or publicly screened or exhibited during the period of 1 April 2018 to 30 November 2019.