Inline hockey association to send four teams to European Championships

• By Michael Uugwanga

THE Namibia Ice and Inline Hockey Association (NIIHA) will send four teams (senior women, junior men, junior women, and U-17 boys) to the European Championship, which will be held in Charleroi, Belgium, from July 21 to 29.

The senior women’s and junior men’s teams travelled to Belgium on Wednesday, July 19, with the remaining teams set to depart in the coming days.

Forty-five teams from 14 countries will compete for medals in each division, including the host country Belgium, the Czech Republic, Spain, Finland, France, Great Britain, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, and Namibia.

Namibia’s invitation to this competition represents the tournament’s first appearance by a non-European team.

Namibia was invited after the country’s junior women’s team won the World Championships in Argentina, while the junior men’s finished fourth overall, representing the first for any African country to be in the top five positions at the World level of inline hockey.

For more on this & other stories:Grab a copy of the Newspaper